printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Secretary of State's Award for Corporate Excellence

Awards for Corporate Excellence

The Secretary of State's Award for Corporate Excellence (ACE), established by the State Department in 1999, recognizes the important role U.S. businesses play abroad as good corporate citizens. The Award sends a strong signal of the Department's commitment to further corporate social responsibility, innovation, exemplary practices, and democratic values worldwide. The ACE helps define America as a positive force in the world. It highlights our increasing outreach to the business community, our public-private partnerships, and our public diplomacy efforts. The ACE recognizes the contributions business makes to improving lives at home and abroad.

U.S. companies are nominated by Chiefs of Mission worldwide and the winners are chosen by the Principals' Award Selection Committee. The Committee, chaired by the Under Secretary for Economic, Energy, and Agricultural Affairs, includes a representative of the Secretary, the Under Secretary for Global Affairs, the Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs, and various Assistant Secretaries. It also includes senior officials from the U.S. Agency for International Development, Overseas Private Investment Corporation, MCC, and Department of Commerce. Winners are recognized with a handsome, copyrighted award statue unveiled in a formal ceremony hosted by the Secretary of State. Former Secretaries of State Condoleezza Rice, Colin Powell, Madeleine Albright, and Hillary Rodham Clinton presented the ACE awards during their tenures. The ceremony, attended by Congressional staff, the Diplomatic Corps, and leaders from the business, NGO, and academic communities, includes participation, via satellite, of Chiefs of Mission whose candidates have won, in-country company executives, and invited guests at post. The ACE event is open to the media and broadcast worldwide.

Past winners include both multinational and small-to-medium size enterprises. Historically, the Selection Committee, which meets during the summer months, has recognized two to three winners based on a thorough discussion and evaluation of the nominations submitted. Past winners include:

2014 - EcoPlanet Bamboo Group, Nicaragua; Wagner Asia Equipment, LLC, Mongolia; Coca-Cola Company, Philippines.
2013 - Taylor Guitars, Cameroon; Fruit of the Loom, Honduras; Plantronics, Mexico.
2012 - Sorwathe, Rwanda; Intel Corporation, Vietnam.
2011 - Sahlman Seafoods, Incorporated, Nicaragua; Procter & Gamble, Nigeria; Procter & Gamble, Pakistan.
2010 - Cisco Systems, Israel; Mars, Inc., Ghana; Denimatrix, Guatemala.
2009 - Trilogy International Partners, Haiti; TOMS Shoes, Argentina.
2008 - Cargill, China; SURevolution, Colombia.
2007 - GE, Indonesia; Transnational Automotive Group, Cameroon.
2006 - General Motors, Colombia; Goldman Sachs, Chile; Sambazon, Brazil.
2005 - Cisco Systems, Jordan; Lapa Rios Ecolodge, Costa Rica.
2004 - Motorola, Brazil; FIJI Water, Fiji.
2003 - Chevron/Texaco, Nigeria; U.S. Steel Corporation, the Slovak Republic.
2002 - Coca-Cola, Egypt; Chindex International, China.
2001 - Ford Motor Company, South Africa; SELCO, Vietnam.
2000 - Motorola, Malaysia; Rayonier New Zealand; Land O’Frost, Uruguay.
1999 - Xerox, Brazil; F.C. Schaffer & Associates, Ethiopia.


Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.