printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Volunteer Opportunities


Share

ONLINE RESOURCES

Resources specific to the Washington, DC, area

ACDI VOCA - www.acdivoca.org

Action Against Hunger - www.actionagainsthunger.org

Adopt-A-Minefield - www.landmines.org

America Supports You, Our Military Men & Women - www.americasupportsyou.mil

Amizade - http://amizade.org/ Archaeological Institute of America - www.archaeological.org
• Offers a directory of archaeological fieldwork volunteer opportunities all over the world

Believe In Tomorrow - National Children's Foundation - www.believeintomorrow.org

Big Brothers & Big Sisters - www.bbbs.org and www.bbbsi.org (International)

Biosphere Expeditions - www.biosphere-expeditions.org

Brother's Brother Foundation - www.brothersbrother.org

Care & Health - www.careandhealth.com

Change Net - www.change.net

Christian Appalachian Project - www.chrisapp.org

Christian Children's Fund - www.christianchildrensfund.org

City Harvest - www.cityharvest.org

Coalition for the Homeless - www.coalitionforthehomeless.org

Concern Worldwide (U.S.) Inc. - www.concernusa.org

Corporation for National & Community Service - www.cns.gov
- Provides opportunities for all ages in all states to serve their communities and country through AmeriCorps, SeniorCorps, and Learn & Serve America.

AmeriCorps - www.americorps.org

SeniorCorps - www.seniorcorps.org
- Network of programs including Foster Grandparents, Senior Companions,
and RSVP

Retired & Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP) - www.campagnacenter.org/RSVP.htm
- National program of the Corporation for National and Community Service which matches the personal interests and skills of persons 55 years and older with opportunities to solve community problems.

Council on International Educational Exchange - www.ciee.org

Cross-Cultural Solutions - www.crossculturalsolutions.org

Direct Relief International - www.directrelief.org

Doctors without Borders - www.doctorswithoutborders.org

Donate Life - www.organdonor.gov

Earthwatch Institute - www.earthwatch.org
"engages people worldwide in scientific field research and education to promote the understanding and action necessary for a sustainable environment" and offers fascinating volunteer work in gorgeous locations for good causes

Eco Volunteer - www.ecovolunteer.org

Experience Corps - www.experiencecorps.org

Feed the Children - www.feedthechildren.org

Food for the Hungry - www.fh.org

Global Crossroad - www.globalcrossroad.com

Global Service Corps - www.globalservicecorps.org

Global Volunteers - www.globalvolunteers.org
- Nonprofit international development organization that sends small teams to work projects as teaching conversational English and other basic subjects, assisting with health care, building schools and community facilities, etc.
- About 67 percent of volunteers are older adults, drawn primarily from the U.S. and Canada.

Globe Aware Vacations In Service - www.globeaware.org

Go Abroad - www.goabroad.com

Green Volunteers - www.greenvolunteers.org

Guidestar - www.guidestar.org/classifieds
- Covers entire nation and hosts advertisements for special opportunities and offers a searchable database of 850,000+ nonprofit organizations in the U.S.

Habitat for Humanity International - www.habitat.org
- Nonprofit, nondenominational Christian housing organization which builds simple, decent, affordable houses in partnership with those who lack adequate shelter in every state of the U.S. and 100 countries
- Offers volunteer opportunities in formal groups and in one-time short projects

HHS/The Children's Bureau - AdoptUsKids - www.adoptuskids.org

Help Exchange - www.helpx.net

Idealist - www.idealist.org/ip/volunteerOpportunitySearch
• Also known as "Action Without Borders"
• Covers world.
• Search by interest, project, location and other factors.

International Medical Corps www.imcworldwide.org

Interplast - www.interplast.org

i-to-i - www.i-to-i.com

InterAction: American Council for Voluntary International Action -- www.interaction.org/members
• An alliance of U.S.-based international development and humanitarian NGOs.
• Publishes biweekly newsletter, "Monday Developments" with some very good job and volunteer vacancy announcements.
• Subscription to the hard copy is fairly costly. Subscription to the weekly e-mail job announcements is more reasonable.

International Executive Service Corps (IESC) - www.iesc.org
• Business advisors

International Mission on Diplomacy - www.internationalmissions.org
• Recruits faculty advisors to help lead groups of university students through overseas educational programs which introduce them to career options in the field of international affairs

Internet Volunteer Initiative - www.applesforhealth.com/intvol1.html
• Free skills registry for people wanting to volunteer.
• Also offers a database of opportunities.

Keep America Beautiful - www.kab.org

The Land Conservancy - www.conservancy.bc.ca
• A non-profit, charitable Land Trust working throughout British Columbia to protect important habitats and properties
• Offers working holidays for volunteers

Lifeline Cat Research and Recovery Center - www.rtec.strayduck.com/index.htm
• Works to conserve 5 species of cat native to Belize with rescue, rehabilitation, and research.
• Accepts 2 volunteers at a time for a minimum of one month

Locks of Love - www.locksoflove.org

Make a Wish Foundation - www.wish.org

Map International - www.map.org

Matching Donors - www.matchingdonors.com

Mentor - http://mentoring.org

Mercy Corps - www.mercycorps.org

Mercy-USA for Aid & Development - www.mercyusa.org

Microcredit Summit Campaign - www.microcreditsummit.org

My Wonderful World, A National Geographic-led Campaign - www.mywonderfulworld.org

National Center for Missing & Exploited Children - www.missingkids.com

National Coalition for the Homeless - www.nationalhomeless.org

National Council for International Visitors - www.nciv.org
• National network of community organizations working with State Department's International Visitor Leadership Program and other exchanges

National Mentoring Partnership - www.mentoring.org
• Connects America's young people with caring adult mentors and with mentoring opportunities with local organizations by zip code.
• Offers training online.

National Trust - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/volunteering
• Acquisition and protection of threatened coastline, countryside and buildings in England, Wales and Northern Ireland
• Offers working holidays every year throughout England, Wales and Northern Ireland

Network For Good - www.networkforgood.org/volunteer
• Covers entire nation.
• Search by zip code, distance, interest, or organization.

One - http://one.org

Operation Smile - www.operationsmile.org

Oceanic Society - www.oceanic-society.org
• A nonprofit conservation organization to protect marine wildlife worldwide
• Offers research expeditions on which volunteers perform various tasks related to a research project

1-800-VOLUNTEER.org - www.1-800-volunteer.org
• Provides direct connections to local volunteer opportunities that match interests and skills.

Orangutan Foundation International - www.orangutan.org
• Supports the conservation and understanding of the orangutan and its rain forest habitat while caring for ex-captive individuals as they make their way back to the forest.
• Offers several types of field work for volunteers in Sumatra and Borneo

Orphanage Outreach - www.orphanage-outreach.org
• A nonprofit organization that works with orphaned and abandoned children in the Dominican Republic
• Volunteers can travel there to teach English and math

Peace Games - www.peacegames.org

Pratham USA - www.prathamusa.org

Rainforest-Alliance - www.rainforest-alliance.org

Relief Riders International - www.reliefridersinternational.com

ReServe - www.ReServeInc.org

Right to Play - www.olympicaid.net/ or www.righttoplay.com

Safe Kids Worldwide - www.safekids.org

St Jude's Children Research Hospital - www.stjude.org

Save the Children - www.savethechildren.org

Second Harvest - www.secondharvest.org

SERVEnet - www.servenet.org
• Enter your zip code, city, state, skills, interests, and availability and be matched with organizations needing help.
• Also offers job openings and a calendar of events.

Sierra Club - www.sierraclub.org/outings

Stop Hunger Now - www.stophungernow.org

United Nations Volunteers (UNV) - www.unv.org

USA Freedom Corps - www.usafreedomcorps.gov
• A U.S. government effort to promote volunteerism.
• They also work "to expand and strengthen federal service programs like the Peace Corps, Citizen Corps, AmeriCorps, and Senior Corps, and to raise awareness of and break down barriers to service opportunities with all federal government agencies."

Volunteer for the Visayans - www.visayans.org
 

Volunteer Match - www.volunteermatch.Org/results
• Covers entire nation.
• Search by zip code, distance, and interest.

Volunteer Travel - www.volunteertravel.com

Volunteers for Peace - www.vfp.org

World Volunteer Web - www.worldvolunteerweb.org
• Provides information, resources, and a forum for organizations linked to volunteerism. Was created by the UN Volunteers program (UNV).
• Lists volunteer opportunities worldwide

The above links are for informational purposes only and in no way constitute an endorsement, expressed or implied, by the Department of State. Links to websites outside the U.S. federal government or the use of trade, firm, or corporation names are for the convenience of the user and do not constitute an official endorsement or approval of any private sector website, product, service, or privacy policy.



Back to Top
Sign-in

Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.