printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Writing and Publishing


Share

ONLINE RESOURCES

American Society of Association Executives - www.asaenet.org
• To find many associations that focus on science, fiction, poetry, medical, etc.

American Society of Journalists and Authors - www.asja.org
• National organization for freelance nonfiction writers.

Copy Editor - www.copyeditor.com
• A great site for job listings and networking opportunities with other copy editors.

Directory of Free Agent Job Listing Web Sites -
www.airsdirectory.com/directories/job_boards/?action=display_job_boards&industry=specialty
• Links to 85+ free agent web sites, many of which post opportunities for freelance writers.

Ed2010 - www.ed2010.com/index.html
• This is a great site for insider leads on jobs.

Editorial Freelancers Association - www.the-efa.org
• The web site for the national organization of freelance editors.
• Members also include writers and artists.
• This site has a page of links to excellent web sites in the writing/editing arena.

Elance - www.elance.com

Forward Motion - www.fmwriters.com

Funds for Writers - www.fundsforwriters.com

Guide to Writers Conferences & Workshops - http://writing.shawguides.com
• An excellent directory listing of 800+ conferences worldwide, with a focus on varied content, such as journalism, autobiography, environment, children, humor and fiction.

Guru.com - www.guru.com

National Novel Writing Month - www.nanowrimo.org

Photo Source International - www.photosource.com/index.php
• Web site for photo buyers and sellers.

Selling Your Book to Electronic Publishers - http://eclectics.com/articles/ebooks2.htm
• A short article on the advantages and disadvantages to consider if you are interested in publishing your works on the web.

Sun Oasis Jobs - www.sunoasis.com/freelance.html

Winning Writers - www.winningwriters.com

The Writer's Center - www.writer.org
• This site offers information about upcoming workshops as well as pages and links to excellent resources for writers and editors.

Writers Digest - www.writersdigest.com
• You can also find a list of more writing websites on this website.

Writers Online Workshops - www.writersonlineworkshops.com
• Offers online courses for aspiring writers

Writers Weekly - www.writersweekly.com
• A nice collection of information about getting your work published on and offline, including links to 15+ sites that list jobs for freelance writers.

Writers Write - www.writerswrite.com/jobs/jobs.htm
• Good site with minimal, but solid job leads for technical and business writing.
• Links to other sites that mostly focus on journalism-style writing opportunities.

Zoetrope - www.zoetrope.com
• Virtual writers workshop with short story focus

JOURNALISM

Cyber Journalist - http://www.cyberjournalist.net/jobs.php
• Free job board
• Offers very good hyperlinks to other job banks and company job boards

AJR JobLink For Journalists - http://newslink.org/joblink
• Free job board with e-mail notification of new jobs also available

Journalism Jobs - www.journalismjobs.com
• Free access; search by type of job, location, and schedule.
• Affiliated with the Columbia Journalism Review
• Lists a wide variety of public affairs jobs in the U.S. and overseas; also lists job fairs and professional conferences.
• Offers some articles with advice on job searches in the field as well as recent professional issues.

Media Bistro - www.mediabistro.com/joblistings
• Job board requires membership with annual fee - you can see the job and employer listed but cannot access the job details without membership
• Site also offers articles on profession and job search

National Writers Union - www.nwu.org
• Free job board
• E-mail notifications of jobs available with NWU membership

PUBLISHING

American Copy Editors Society Jobs (ACESjobs) - www.groups.yahoo.com/group/ACESjobs

Editor & Publisher - www.editorandpublisher.com
• Print and online journal covering North American newspaper industry, including business, newsroom, advertising, circulation, marketing, technology, online and syndicates
• Free job board in the Classifieds; jobs include all specialties in the industry

eWomen Publishing Network - www.ewomenpublishingnetwork.com

Publishers Weekly.com - http://jobs.publishersweekly.com/jobbank.cfm
• Free job board
• Free e-mail notification of new jobs in specific specialty areas

MAGAZINES & JOURNALS

Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP) - The Writer's Chronicle
Tel: 703-993-4301
www.awpwriter.org/magazine

Poets & Writers -- Magazine and organization
Tel: 212-226-3586
www.pw.org

LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS

The Writer's Center
Tel: 301-654-8664
www.writer.org


Association of Writers and Writing Programs
Tel: 703-993-4301
www.awpwriter.org

Women's National Book Association
www.wnba-books.org/wash

Washington Independent Writers
Tel: 202-737-9500
www.washwriter.org

CONFERENCES

Bread Loaf Writers' Conference
Tel: 802-443-5286
www.middlebury.edu/academics/blwc

Sewanee Writer's Conference
Tel: 931-598-1141
www.sewaneewriters.org

WRITING SCAMS

Writer Beware - www.sfwa.org/beware

The above links are for informational purposes only and in no way constitute an endorsement, expressed or implied, by the Department of State. Links to websites outside the U.S. federal government or the use of trade, firm, or corporation names are for the convenience of the user and do not constitute an official endorsement or approval of any private sector website, product, service, or privacy policy.



Back to Top
Sign-in

Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.