printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Learn More About AGOA


Despite significant gains in economic growth and improved governance, sub-Saharan Africa continues to face significant challenges to development.  In both Africa and the United States, a growing consensus suggests that open trade and international investment will enable Africa to further boost economic growth, spur development, and reduce poverty.

Enacted in May 2000, The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) expands U.S.-sub-Saharan African trade and investment, stimulates economic growth, promotes a high-level dialogue on trade and investment-related issues, encourages economic integration, and facilitates sub-Saharan Africa’s integration into the global economy. The legislation provides reforming African countries with the most liberal access to the U.S. market available to any country or region with which the United States does not have a free trade agreement. Under AGOA, eligible countries can export thousands of products to the United States duty-free.

Since its inception, eligible sub-Saharan African countries have exported over $430 billion worth of goods to the United States under AGOA and the related GSP program.  In 2012, total AGOA exports were valued at nearly $35 billion, with products including metals, leather products, and footwear experiencing notable growth over the previous year.

To be eligible for AGOA trade preferences, a country must demonstrate progress towards developing a market-based economy, protection of human and labor rights, and efforts to combat corruption and enhance rule of law, among others.  The following list of countries is eligible to receive benefits from AGOA in 2015:

Current countries eligible and participating under AGOA

Angola Gabon Namibia
Benin Ghana Niger
Botswana Guinea Nigeria
Burkina Faso Guinea-Bissau Rwanda
Burundi Kenya Sao Tome and Principe
Cabo Verde Lesotho Senegal
Cameroon Liberia Seychelles
Chad Madagascar Sierra Leone
Comoros Malawi South Africa
Republic of Congo Mali Tanzania
Cote d’Ivoire Mauritania Togo
Djibouti Mauritius Uganda
Ethiopia Mozambique Zambia

Here are some select releases written about AGOA by senior government officials or agencies.

Back to Top

Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.