printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action


(As of 9/16/2014)

Date: 11/28/2011 Location: Washington, DC Description: U.S. National Commission for UNESCO Annual Meeting, November 28, 2011, Washington, DC. - State Dept Image
U.S. National Commission for UNESCO Annual Meeting, November 28, 2011, Washington, D.C.
(U.S. National Commission for UNESCO)

U.S. National Commission for UNESCO
The National Commission will be comprised of up to 100 members appointed by the Secretary of State. There can be up to 60 representatives of non-governmental organizations (NGOs), 10 United States Government officials, 15 representatives of the interests of state and local governments, and up to 15 individuals at large.

NGO Members: Organization (Representative)

  1. American Architectural Foundation (Ron Bogle)
  2. American Association for the Advancement of Science (Vaughn Turekian)
  3. American Association of Engineering Societies (Henry Hatch)
  4. American Chamber of Commerce in France (Marina Niforos)
  5. American Chemical Society (Bradley Miller)
  6. American Council of Learned Societies (Steven Wheatley)
  7. American Council on Education (Molly Corbett Broad)
  8. American Federation of Teachers (Tina Flournoy)
  9. American Geological Institute (Patrick Leahy)
  10. American Jewish International Relations Institute (Sharon Wilkes)
  11. American Library Association (Fred Stielow)
  12. American Physical Society (Amy Flatten)
  13. American Society of Civil Engineers (Fred Berger)
  14. Americans for UNESCO (Melinda Kimble)
  15. Arkansas Governor’s Mansion Association (Kaki Hockersmith)
  16. ArtMiles (Joanne Tawfilis)
  17. Black Alliance for Educational Options (Kenneth Campbell)
  18. Boys & Girls Club of Greater Washington (Pandit Wright)
  19. California Colleges for International Education (Andreea Serban)
  20. Children’s Health Fund (Irwin Redlener)
  21. Democracy Alliance (Kelly Craighead-Mullen)
  22. Equal Access (Ronni Goldfarb)
  23. Geological Society of America (Jack Hess)
  24. George Wright Society (David Harmon)
  25. Hewlett Foundation (Barbara Chow)
  26. Huntington Library (Steven Koblik)
  27. Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (Sheree Wen)
  28. Institute of International Education (Daniel Obst)
  29. International Center for Research on Women (Sarah Kambou)
  30. International Institute of Wisconsin (Alexander Durtka)
  31. IREX (Bob Pearson)
  32. Learning Disabilities Association of America (Ann Kornblet)
  33. NAFSA: Association of International Educators (Marlene Johnson)
  34. National Academy of Sciences (Kathie Bailey)
  35. National Center for Family Literacy (Sharon Darling)
  36. National Marine Sanctuary Foundation (James Connaughton)
  37. Newseum (Cathy Trost)
  38. Ottaway Foundation (David Ottaway)
  39. ProLiteracy
  40. Rotary Club of Tuman Bay (Brian McDermott)
  41. Santa Fe Opera (Andrea Fellows Walters)
  42. Spectacle Learning Media (Jean Bernard)
  43. S. Daniel Abraham Center for Middle East Peace (Sara Ehrman)
  44. Thelonius Monk Institute of Jazz (Tom Carter)
  45. United Nations Foundation (Susan Myers)
  46. Urban Strategies (Adi Shamir Baron)
  47. U.S. Chamber of Commerce (Marc DeCourcey)
  48. U.S. International Council on Monuments and Sites (Jan Anderson)
  49. Vital Voices Global Partnership (Nancy Kamel)
  50. Western Governors University (Sally Johnstone)

Federal Members

  1. John Fowler, Executive Director, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
  2. John Holdren, Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  3. Miriam Nisbet, Director, Office of Government Information Services, National Archives and Records Administration
  4. Stephanie Owens, Environmental Protection Agency

State/Local Government Members

  1. Chisara Asomugha, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Baltimore, MD
  2. Leonard Harris, Professor, Purdue University
  3. Richard Meganck, International Program Leader, Institute for Water and Watersheds, Oregon State University
  4. Patrick Mendis, George Mason University
  5. Christopher Merrill, Director, University of Iowa International Writing Program
  6. Fernando Reimers, Harvard Graduate School of Education
  7. Susan Stern, New York State Commission on National and Community Service
  8. Dan Wagner, Director, International Educational Development Program, Univ. of Pennsylvania

At-Large Members

  1. Nigel Cameron, Washington, DC
  2. Betsy Levitt Cohn, New York, NY
  3. Esther Coopersmith, Washington, DC
  4. Kit Dobelle, Pittsfield, MA
  5. Hon. Philip S. English, Erie, PA
  6. Linda Forbes, Washington, DC
  7. Felice Gaer, New York, NY
  8. Phyllis Magrab, Washington, DC
  9. Bobbie Greene McCarthy, Washington, DC
  10. Brian O’Dwyer, New York, NY
  11. Hannah Rosenthal, Milwaukee, WI 
  12. Robin Tauck, Weston, CT
  13. Andre Varchaver, Washington, DC
  14. Maggie Williams, Westerly, RI
  15. Alex Wirth, Cambridge, MA


Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.