printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Public Meeting in Washington, DC, December 2, 2013

November 18, 2013


U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy – Notice of Public Meeting in Washington, DC

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy will hold a public meeting on the topic of “The State of Public Diplomacy in 2014” on Monday, December 2, 2013 from 2:00-4:00 p.m. at the Capitol Visitor’s Center, Room SVC203-02, in Washington, DC.

Two panels will discuss the state of public diplomacy practice and research as we move into 2014. The first panel will focus on appraisals of public diplomacy and international broadcasting the past decade from the U.S. Government’s perspective. It will include Jason Bair, Assistant Director of International Affairs and Trade at the Government Accountability Office; Seth Center, Historian at the U.S. Department of State; and Michael Hurley, Senior Public Diplomacy Inspector at the U.S. Department of State. The second panel will focus on scholarship the past decade from the external researchers’ perspective. It will include Professor Craig Hayden of American University and Professor Emily Metzgar of the University of Indiana at Bloomington.

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy appraises U.S. Government activities intended to understand, inform, and influence foreign publics. The Advisory Commission may conduct studies, inquiries, and meetings, as it deems necessary. It may assemble and disseminate information and issue reports and other publications, subject to the approval of the Chairperson, in consultation with the Executive Director. The Advisory Commission may undertake foreign travel in pursuit of its studies and coordinate, sponsor, or oversee projects, studies, events, or other activities that it deems desirable and necessary in fulfilling its functions.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The members of the Commission shall represent the public interest and shall be selected from a cross section of educational, communications, cultural, scientific, technical, public service, labor, business, and professional backgrounds. Not more than four members shall be from any one political party. The President designates a member to chair the Commission.

The current members of the Commission are: Mr. William Hybl of Colorado, Chairman; Mr. Sim Farar of California, Vice Chairman; Ambassador Lyndon Olson of Texas, Vice Chairman; Ambassador Penne Korth-Peacock of Texas; Ms. Anne Terman Wedner of Illinois; and Ms. Lezlee Westine of Virginia. One seat on the Commission is currently vacant.

The following individual has been nominated to the Commission but awaits Senate confirmation as of this writing: Mr. Alfredo Balsera of Florida.

The meeting will be open to the public, Members and staff of Congress, the State Department, Defense Department, the media, and other governmental and nongovernmental organizations. Seating is limited. To attend this event, please RSVP to To request further information, or to request reasonable accommodation, contact Katherine Brown, Executive Director of the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy, at

Back to Top

Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.