printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor Tom Malinowski Travels to California February 1-4


Media Note
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
January 31, 2016

Share

Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor Tom Malinowski will travel to California to deliver the second annual Handa Center Public Lecture on Human Rights at Stanford University on February 3 at 5:30 p.m. PST (8:30 p.m. EST). He will speak about the profound importance and enduring challenges of advancing democratic ideals and respect for human rights, and why the United States plays an essential role in protecting and promoting these freedoms.

During the visit, Assistant Secretary Malinowski will also meet with corporate, civil society, and academic leaders for discussions on the current and future challenges related to human rights online and what the United States government can continue doing to promote and protect these rights. Additionally, Assistant Secretary Malinowski will meet with students at the University of California, Berkeley, School of Law.

Lastly, Assistant Secretary Malinowski will participate in Reddit’s “Ask Me Anything” forum on February 4 at 9:00 a.m. PST (12:00 p.m. EST).

For more information, please contact DRL-Press@state.gov or Chanan Weissman at weissmanc@state.gov.

For updates, follow Democracy, Human Rights and Labor Assistant Secretary Malinowski on Facebook (Facebook.com/StateDRL), Twitter @Malinowski, and Instagram (Instagram/tpmalinowski).

Sign-in

Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.