printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Former Deputy Secretaries of State

2011-2014: William J. Burns
2009-2011: James B. Steinberg
2007-2009: John D. Negroponte
2005-2006: Robert B. Zoellick
2001-2005: Richard L. Armitage
1994-2001: Strobe Talbott
1993-1993: Clifton R. Wharton, Jr.
1989-1992: Lawrence Sidney Eagleburger
1985-1989: John C. Whitehead
1982-1982: Walter J. Stoessel, Jr.
1981-1982: William P. Clark
1977-1981: Warren Christopher
1976-1977: Charles W. Robinson
1974-1976: Robert Steven Ingersoll
1973-1974: Kenneth Rush
1972-1973: John N. Irwin, II

For more information, please contact the U.S. Department of State Office of the Historian.


Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.