printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Directory of Key Officials and Senior Management

FY 2003 Performance and Accountability Highlights
Bureau of Resource Management
December 2003

Colin L. Powell - Secretary of State

Richard L. Armitage - Deputy Secretary of State

John D. Negroponte - United States Permanent Representative to the United Nations

Arms Control and International Security Affairs

John R. Bolton - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Arms Control - Stephen G. Rademaker
  • Bureau of Political-Military Affairs - Lincoln P. Bloomfield, Jr.
  • Bureau of Non-Proliferation - John Stern Wolf
  • Bureau of Verification and Compliance - Paula A. DeSutter

Economic, Business and Agricultural Affairs

Alan P. Larson - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs - E. Anthony Wayne

Global Affairs

Paula J. Dobriansky - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor - Lorne W. Craner
  • Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement - Robert B. Charles
  • Bureau of Oceans and Environmental and Scientific Affairs - John F. Turner
  • Bureau of Population, Refugees and Migration - Arthur E. Dewey


Grant S. Green - Under Secretary

  • Director General of Foreign Service and Director of Personnel - W. Robert Pearson
  • Bureau of Administration - William A. Eaton
  • Bureau of Consular Affairs - Maura Harty
  • Bureau of Diplomatic Security - Francis X. Taylor
  • Overseas Buildings Operations - Charles E. Williams
  • Bureau of Information Resource Management, Chief Information Officer - Bruce Morrison, Acting
  • Foreign Service Institute - Katherine H. Peterson

Political Affairs

Marc Grossman - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of African Affairs - Charles R. Snyder, Acting
  • Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs - James A. Kelly
  • Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs - A. Elizabeth Jones
  • Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs - William J. Burns
  • Bureau of South Asian Affairs - Christina B. Rocca
  • Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs - Roger F. Noriega
  • Bureau of International Organizational Affairs - Kim R. Holmes

Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs

Margaret Tutwiler - Under Secretary

  • Bureau of Public Affairs - Richard A. Boucher
  • Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs - Patricia De Stacy Harrison
  • Office of International Information Programs - Stuart Holliday

Other Senior Officials

  • Chief of Staff - Larry Wilkerson
  • Executive Secretariat - Karl W. Hofmann
  • Office of Policy Planning - Mitchell B. Reiss
  • Chief Financial Officer - Christopher B. Burnham
  • Legal Adviser - William H. Taft, IV
  • Inspector General - Anne W. Patterson, Acting
  • Office of Civil Rights - Barbara S. Pope
  • Bureau of Legislative Affairs - Paul V. Kelly
  • Bureau of Intelligence and Research - Charles T. Fingar, Acting
  • Office of Protocol - Donald B. Ensenat
  • Coordinator for Counterterrorism - J. Cofer Black
  • Office of War Crimes Issues - Pierre R. Prosper
  • Counselor - Vacant


Organization Chart for the Department of StateD


Back to Top

Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.