printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

Current Board Members

  • Hon. Gary Hart, ISAB Chairman and President of Hart International, Ltd. Former Chairman of the Threat Reduction Advisory Council at the Department of Defense

  • Hon. Charles B. Curtis, ISAB Vice Chairman, Senior Advisor to the Center for Strategic and International Studies, President Emeritus of the Nuclear Threat Initiative and former Deputy Secretary of Energy

  • Hon. Graham Allison, Director of the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs and Douglas Dillon Professor of Government at Harvard's John F. Kennedy School of Government

  • Amb. Brooke D. Anderson, served as Senior Advisor to the Secretary of State and the Under Secretary for Political Affairs on the Iran Nuclear Negotiations. Former Deputy Assistant to the President, Chief of Staff and Counselor for the National Security Staff, and Alternate Representative to the United Nations

  • Hon. Douglas Bereuter, former Republican Congressman from Nebraska

  • Dr. Bruce Blair, Research Faculty, Princeton University and Co-founder of Global Zero

  • Amb. Linton F. Brooks, independent consultant on national security issues; Senior Advisor at the Center for Strategic and International Studies; Distinguished Research Fellow at the National Defense University; member of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on International Security and Arms Control; and former U.S. Negotiator for the Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty

  • BGen Stephen A. Cheney (USMC, Ret.), Chief Executive Officer of the American Security Project (ASP), former Commanding General at Parris Island, Deputy Executive Secretary to the Secretary of Defense, and Inspector General of the Marine Corps

  • Mr. Joseph Cirincione, President of Ploughshares Fund

  • Mr. Richard W. Fieldhouse, President of Insight Strategies, LLC, and former Professional Staff Member of the U.S. Senate Armed Services Committee and Staff Lead, Emerging Threats and Capabilities Subcommittee

  • Amb. Robert Gallucci, Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy, Georgetown University, former President of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation and former Dean of the Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University

  • Hon. Sherri Goodman, former President and CEO, Consortium for Ocean Leadership and former Deputy Undersecretary of Defense

  • Amb. Robert E. Hunter, former U.S. Ambassador to NATO

  • Hon. Shirley Ann Jackson, President of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and former Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission

  • Dr. Raymond Jeanloz, Senior Fellow in the Miller Institute for Basic Research in Science and Professor of Earth and Planetary Science and Astronomy at the University of California, Berkeley. Chair of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on International Security and Arms Control

  • Dr. David A. Kay, Senior Fellow, The Potomac Institute for Policy Studies; former head of the Iraq Survey Group and UN Chief Weapons Inspector

  • Gen Lester L. Lyles (USAF, Ret.), Independent Consultant; Director and Chairman of the Board of USAA; former Commander, Air Force Space and Missile Systems Center; former Director of the Ballistic Missile Defense Organization; former Vice Chief of Staff of the Headquarters of the U.S. Air Force; and former Commander of the U.S. Air Force Materiel Command

  • GEN Montgomery C. Meigs (USA, Ret.), Visiting Professor, Lyndon Baines Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas at Austin; former President and CEO of Business Executives for National Security (BENS) and former Commander of the NATO Stabilization Force in Bosnia and Herzegovina concurrent with his command of U.S. Army Europe/7th Army

  • Rep. Harold P. Naughton Jr., member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives since 1995; currently serves as the Chairman of the Joint Committee on Public Safety and Homeland Security; a U.S. Army Reserve officer, and a veteran of both Iraq and Afghanistan

  • Mr. Robert N. Rose, President of Robert Rose Consulting, LLC and former Senior Advisor to the Chairman of Bridgewater Associates, one of the largest hedge funds in the world

  • Dr. Amy Sands, Senior Advisor for Nonproliferation and International Security Initiatives at the Monterey Institute of International Studies

  • Hon. Walter Slocombe, Senior Counsel in the law firm of Caplin & Drysdale, Chartered and former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy

  • Dr. James A. Tegnelia, President and Owner of DBE Consulting LLC and former Director of the Defense Threat Reduction Agency

  • Hon. William H. Tobey, Senior Fellow at the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government and former Deputy Administrator for Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation at the National Nuclear Security Administration


Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.