printable banner

U.S. Department of State - Great Seal

U.S. Department of State

Diplomacy in Action

2014 The Hague

The third Nuclear Security Summit will be hosted by the Netherlands and is scheduled to take place in The Hague March 24-25, 2014. Fifty-three countries and four international organizations have been invited.

The Hague Summit will build on the impressive track record of the previous two Summits, focusing on the key issues of strengthening the global nuclear security architecture, elevating the importance of cooperation between governments and nuclear industry, and maintaining the high level of achievement on Summit commitments. At the Summit, the international community will review the progress made since the 2012 Summit, focus attention on objectives enunciated in the Seoul Communiqué and Washington Work Plan that have not yet been met, and develop a clear way ahead to translate them from ambition to action.

As was the case with the two prior Summits, extensive preparations and consultations among senior-level experts from each participating country are being held in the run-up to the 2014 Summit. These experts, known as sherpas and sous-sherpas, meet to develop consensus on the priorities and specific actions that will ultimately form the basis of the commitments made by world leaders in the Summit Communiqué. For the 2014 Summit, this process began in November 2012, with the first preparatory meeting held in Istanbul, and will end with a final meeting in The Hague just prior to the Summit in March.

Three official side events will also take place on the margins of The Hague Summit in an effort to involve key actors from the nuclear industry, the scientific community, nongovernmental organizations, and the general public. The first, titled @tomic 2014, is a table-top exercise on decision-making in the event of an incident of nuclear terrorism. This exercise will take place over the course of three days in Maastricht February 18-20, 2014. Additional side events include the Nuclear Knowledge Summit in The Hague on March 21-22 and the Nuclear Industry Summit in Amsterdam on March 23-24.


  • 53 Countries: Algeria, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, the Philippines, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Vietnam
  • 4 International Organizations: The European Union, the International Atomic Energy Agency, Interpol, and the United Nations


Do you already have an account on one of these sites? Click the logo to sign in and create your own customized State Department page. Want to learn more? Check out our FAQ!

OpenID is a service that allows you to sign in to many different websites using a single identity. Find out more about OpenID and how to get an OpenID-enabled account.