In its tenth year running, the APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE) is an annual award hosted by the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Policy Partnership for Science, Technology, and Innovation (PPSTI) that recognizes young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in scientific research and cross-border collaboration. Each APEC member economy identifies one nominee for the prize, and the U.S. State Department’s Office of Science and Technology Cooperation, in conjunction with the scientific publishers Wiley and Elsevier, holds an annual competition to identify the scientist to represent the United States on the APEC stage.

This year, the ASPIRE prize will promote innovative research that advances society through “biodiversity for a prosperous economy.” Biodiversity is foundational for human health as it underpins the functioning of our ecosystems and dependence for food and water, climate, floods and disease, and more. This theme focuses on scientists’ contributions to biodiversity for prosperous economies across the APEC region by spurring research that contributes to local livelihoods, both traditional and modern medicines, and economic development.

“Biodiversity underpins the health of our economies,” said Yeo Bee Yin, Malaysia’s Minister of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment, and Climate Change. “Innovative research can contribute towards sustainable development by promoting best practices in waste management, food security and energy use.”

Each APEC economy may nominate one individual under 40 years of age in its region for the ASPIRE Prize. The nominees will be judged on their excellence in research and cross-border collaboration with peers from other APEC economies. Nominees should demonstrate a commitment to excellence in scientific research and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies in subjects such as, but not limited to: biology, genetics, botany, chemistry, environmental science, conservation, forestry, ecology, earth science (including geology, oceanography, and atmospheric sciences), veterinary sciences, fisheries sciences/wildlife science/zoology, natural resources, and other relevant fields.

The deadline for U.S. nominees is May 15th, 2020 using this application. Young scientists from the United States who are engaged in research and/or product commercialization in line with the theme noted above are strongly encouraged to put forward applications or nominate their peers.

Completed applications and any questions should be sent to

If selected as the U.S. nominee or runner-ups, the nominee and two runner-ups will be invited to a roundtable in Washington, D.C. in summer 2020 and receive cash prizes of $3000 (nominee) and $1200 (two runner-ups). If selected as the APEC-wide winner, the winner will receive USD $25,000 in prize money at an award ceremony at a PPSTI meeting in Malaysia in August 2020. Wiley and Elsevier are sponsors of the initiative.

For more information please visit: More on APEC meetings, events, projects and publications can be found on

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future