An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
IWOC (15thLogo) Color (Horizontal)

2021 International Women of Courage Award

More About IWOC

The Department of State honored a group of extraordinary women with the 2021 Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage (IWOC) Award.

Established in 2007, this annual award honors women around the world who have demonstrated exceptional courage, strength, and leadership to bring positive change to their communities, often at great personal risk and sacrifice.  To date, under the IWOC program, the U.S. Department of State has recognized more than 155 women from over 75 countries.  All awardees have advocated for the protection of human rights, promoted the advancement of the status of women, and fostered peace and government transparency around the world.

Meet the 2021 awardees and explore their work:

Discover More

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future