The Department of State’s Bureau of African Affairs is focused on the development and management of U.S. policy concerning the African continent.

The Administration’s Africa Strategy, signed by President Trump, focuses on three core objectives:

  1. Advancing trade and commercial ties with key African states to increase U.S. and African prosperity;
  2. Protecting the United States from cross-border health and security threats; and
  3. Supporting key African states’ progress toward stability, citizen-responsive governance, and self-reliance.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future