An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Atlantic Cooperation


On September 18, 2023, at the Ministerial for Atlantic Cooperation on the margins of the 78th United Nations General Assembly, the United States was among 32 Atlantic countries to adopt the Declaration on Atlantic Cooperation, launching the new Partnership for Atlantic Cooperation.  This new multilateral forum brings together an unprecedented number of coastal Atlantic countries across Africa, Europe, North America, South America, and the Caribbean to engage in collective problem-solving and uphold a set of shared principles for Atlantic cooperation.  The partnership also implements an Action Plan for collaboration on sustainable development and science and technology lines of effort. 

Coastal Atlantic countries in Africa, Europe, the Caribbean, and the Americas share a commitment to a peaceful, prosperous, open, and cooperative Atlantic region, while protecting the ocean as a healthy, sustainable, and resilient resource for generations to come.  We face many common challenges, including the climate crisis; environmental degradation; illegal, unreported, and unregulated (IUU) fishing; piracy; and maritime governance.  A shared interest in these cross-cutting challenges provides the basis for a more integrated partnership.  The strategic importance of a well-governed, peaceful Atlantic is clear, as is the importance of developing a strong, cooperative community of coastal Atlantic States.

The following countries have adopted the Declaration on Atlantic Cooperation and the Plan of Action: Angola, Argentina, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Iceland, Ireland, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Portugal, the Republic of the Congo, Senegal, Spain, Togo, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Uruguay.

“This is the first multilateral entity of this scope open to all Atlantic nations, bridging four continents. And at a moment when there’s some doubt about our ability to come together in common cause, we’re showing with this initiative that it is indeed possible.”  

Antony J. Blinken
Secretary of State

Atlantic Cooperation Meeting

Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken meets with Senior Coordinator for Atlantic Cooperation Ambassador Jessica Lapenn at the U.S. Department of State in Washington D.C. on March 8, 2023. [State Department photo by Chuck Kennedy/ Public Domain]



Press Releases


U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future