USAID CBSI programs

USAID CBSI programs are designed to prevent youth participation in crime and violence. Programs support quality education in schools, services that support increased economic opportunities for youth, and engaging youth at risk of becoming involved in criminal activities. Pictured: USAID partners with public and private stakeholders to provide market-demanded technical-vocational training. Photo courtesy of USAID Santo Domingo.

Caribbean Basin Security Initiative

Launched in 2010, the Caribbean Basin Security Initiative (CBSI) is a U.S. security cooperation partnership with thirteen Caribbean countries:  Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, the Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago 

Through CBSI, the United States works to build Caribbean partners’ capacity to disrupt illicit trafficking and transnational crime, advancing Caribbean and U.S. citizen security.  CBSI programs are managed by USAID, the State Department’s Bureau of Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (INL), and the State Department’s Bureau of Political-Military Affairs (PM), in coordination with the State Department’s Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs, which supports policy and programmatic coordination with Caribbean counterparts. 

CBSI programs are designed to address shared U.S.-Caribbean security priorities including maritime law enforcement, border and port security, firearms trafficking, transnational crime, gangs, law enforcement and justice sector capacity building, and youth crime and violence prevention.  CBSI programs are organized along three overarching pillars:  reduce illicit trafficking, increase citizen security, and prevent youth crime and violence.  As of 2022, the U.S. government has committed more than $832 million in CBSI funding benefitting Caribbean partners. 

Convened under the Caribbean-United States Framework for Security Cooperation, the annual U.S.-Caribbean Security Cooperation Dialogue brings together the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), the Dominican Republic, and the United States to review progress and set CBSI goals for the coming year. 

U.S. Embassies 

U.S. Embassy Bridgetown (Barbados) 

U.S. Embassy Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic) 

U.S. Embassy St. Georges (Grenada) 

U.S. Embassy Georgetown (Guyana) 

U.S. Embassy Kingston (Jamaica) 

U.S. Embassy Nassau (The Bahamas) 

U.S. Embassy Paramaribo (Suriname) 

U.S. Embassy Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago) 

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future