An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Countries and Areas

We organize countries and areas into six geographical regions, each corresponding to one of our six “regional” bureaus. Learn more about each below.

The U.S. Department of State Facilities and Areas of Jurisdictions map visualizes the Department’s official presence around the world and the organizational structure of the regional bureaus. Current as of April 2021.

Sub-Saharan Africa

Bureau of African Affairs

East Asia and the Pacific

Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs

Near East (Middle East and Northern Africa)

Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future