Date: 2015 Description: Stylized images of the Arctic. Text: One Arctic, Arctic Council U.S. Chairmanship, 2015 to 2017 - State Dept Image
The United States held the two-year rotating chairmanship of the Arctic Council from April 24, 2015 to May 11, 2017.

The United States has been an Arctic nation with important interests in the region since the purchase of Alaska from Russia in 1867. At that time, national security and economic development were key U.S. interests. While this remains true today, significant changes in the international political arena, environmental, scientific and technological developments, and increasing global interdependence have created new priorities and opportunities for the United States and the other Arctic nations.

U.S. Arctic policy is based on the following principal objectives:

  • Meeting U.S. national security needs.
  • Protecting the Arctic environment and conserving its living resources.
  • Ensuring environmentally-sustainable natural resource management and economic development in the region.
  • Strengthening institutions for cooperation among the eight Arctic nations (the United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, and Sweden).
  • Involving the Arctic’s indigenous communities in decisions that affect them.
  • Enhancing scientific monitoring and research on local, regional, and global environmental issues.

The United States is an active and influential member of the Arctic Council, the premier forum for Arctic diplomacy and assumed the Arctic Council Chairmanship in 2015-2017.

More information about the State Department's role in promoting U.S. interests in the Arctic is available by contacting the Office of Ocean and Polar Affairs.