U.S. Chairmanship of the Arctic Council

One Arctic: Shared Opportunities, Challenges and Responsibilities

The United States held the two-year rotating chairmanship of the Arctic Council from April 24, 2015 to May 11, 2017. The Arctic Council chairmanship offered the United States an opportunity to make significant progress on our Arctic policy objectives.

During the U.S. chairmanship, the State Department coordinated a number of projects and initiatives through the Arctic Council’s subsidiary bodies under three thematic areas: improving economic and living conditions; Arctic Ocean safety, security and stewardship; and addressing the impacts of climate change. The overarching theme, “One Arctic: Shared Opportunities, Challenges and Responsibilities,” recognized and celebrated the region’s long term peace and stability. The U.S. chairmanship concluded on May 11, 2017 with a Ministerial meeting in Fairbanks, Alaska where the foreign ministers signed the Fairbanks Declaration, signed a new Arctic science cooperation agreement, and handed the next two-year chairmanship to Finland.