An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Facilities map showing information presented in text form below.

The U.S. Department of State Facilities and Areas of Jurisdictions map is produced by the Office of the Geographer and Global Issues in the Bureau of Intelligence and Research in conjunction with the Department’s regional bureaus, the Bureau of International Organization Affairs, the Bureau of Consular Affairs Passport Services Office, and Global Publishing Solutions.

View the full-size map 
Countries and areas list
Independent states in the world
Dependencies and areas of special sovereignty

U.S. Diplomatic Posts, Missions, and Department of State Facilities:

Note: Diplomatic representation is accredited to ambassador from handling country.

Table 1: Diplomatic representation handled from another post  
Diplomatic Representation  Handling Post
Andorra Barcelona, Spain
Antigua and Barbuda Bridgetown, Barbados
Comoros Antananarivo, Madagascar
Dominica Bridgetown, Barbados
Guinea-Bissau Dakar, Senegal
Kiribati Suva, Fiji
Liechtenstein Bern, Switzerland
Maldives Colombo, Sri Lanka
Monaco Marseille, France
Nauru Suva, Fiji
Saint Kitts and Nevis Bridgetown, Barbados
Saint Lucia Bridgetown, Barbados
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Bridgetown, Barbados
San Marino Florence, Italy
Sao Tome and Principe Luanda, Angola
Seychelles Port Louis, Mauritius
Solomon Islands Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Tonga Suva, Fiji
Tuvalu Suva, Fiji
Vanuatu Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Table 2: U.S. Mission managed by a regional bureau 
U.S. Mission Managing Regional Bureau 
U.S. Mission to the Organization of American States (OAS) Washington, D.C. [WHA]
U.S. Mission to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (USNATO) Brussels, Belgium [EUR]
U.S. Mission to the European Union (USEU) Brussels, Belgium [EUR]
U.S. Mission to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (USOECD) Paris, France [EUR]
U.S. Mission to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (USOSCE) Vienna, Austria [EUR]
U.S. Mission to the African Union (AU) Addis Ababa, Ethiopia [AF]
U.S. Mission to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Jakarta, Indonesia [EAP]
Table 3: U.S. Mission managed by the Bureau of International Organization Affairs (IO) 
U.S. Mission Managing Bureau (IO)
U.S. Mission to the United Nations (USUN) New York, NY
U.S. Mission to the United Nations and International Organizations (USUN Geneva) Geneva, Switzerland
U.S. Mission to the International Organizations in Vienna (UNVIE) Vienna, Austria
U.S. Mission to the International Civil Aviation Organization (USICAO) Montréal, Canada
U.S. Mission to the United Nations Agencies (USUN Rome) Rome, Italy
U.S. Mission to the United Nations Office in Nairobi (UNON), United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), and United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT) Nairobi, Kenya

U.S. Department of State Regional Bureaus and Their Geographic Offices:

Table 4: Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs (WHA)  
Bureaus of Western Hemisphere Affairs Geographic Offices
AND — Andean Affairs Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela
BSC — Brazilian and Southern Cone Affairs Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay
CAN — Canadian Affairs Canadian Affairs
CAR — Caribbean Affairs Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Caribbean dependencies
CCA — Office of the Coordinator for Cuban Affairs Cuban Affairs
CEN — Central American Affairs Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama
HA — Haitian Affairs Haitian Affairs
MEX — Mexican Affairs Mexican Affairs
Table 5: Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs (EAP) 
Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs Geographic Offices
ANP — Australia, New Zealand, and Pacific Island Affairs Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New  Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu
CM — Chinese and Mongolian Affairs China, Mongolia, Hong Kong S.A.R., Macau S.A.R.
J — Japanese Affairs Japanese Affairs
K — Korean Affairs North Korea, South Korea
MLS — Mainland Southeast Asia Burma, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam
MTS — Maritime Southeast Asia Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Timor-Leste
TC — Office of Taiwan Coordination Office of Taiwan Coordination
Table 6: Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs (EUR)  
Bureau of European and Eurasian Geographic Offices
CE — Central European Affairs Austria, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland
CEEC — Caucasus and Eastern European Affairs and Conflicts Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine
NBA — Northern European, Baltic, and Arctic Security Affairs Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom
RUS — Russian Affairs Russian affairs
SCE — South Central European Affairs Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia
SE — Southern European Affairs Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Turkey
WE — Western European Affairs Andorra, Belgium, France, Germany, Holy See (Vatican City), Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Spain
Table 7: Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs (NEA)  
Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs Geographic Offices
ARP — Arabian Peninsula Affairs Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen
I — Iraqi Affairs Iraqi Affairs
IPA — Israel and Palestinian Affairs Israel and Palestinian Affairs
IR — Iranian Affairs Iranian Affairs
LEV — Levant Affairs Jordan, Lebanon, Syria
NA — North African Affairs Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia
Table 8: Bureau of African Affairs (AF)  
Bureau Of African Affairs Geographic Offices
C — Central African Affairs Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad,  Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda
E — East African Affairs Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda
SSS— South Sudan and Sudan South Sudan and Sudan
S — Southern African Affairs Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique,  Namibia, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe
W — West African Affairs Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo
Table 9: Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs (SCA)  
Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs Geographic Offices
A — Afghanistan Affairs Afghanistan Affairs
CEN — Central Asian Affairs Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
INSB— India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Bhutan, and Maldives Affairs India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Bhutan, and Maldives Affairs
P — Pakistan Affairs Pakistan Affairs

 Time Zones

Time zones portrayed on this map are not necessarily official and do not take into  account Daylight Saving Time/Summertime. Note: Crimea is sovereign Ukrainian  territory, but observes UTC+3 under Russia’s occupation.

-2/+2 — Time zone number in Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

WEST (-):  subtract time zone number from UTC to obtain local time; add time zone number to local time to obtain UTC

EAST (+):  add time zone number to UTC to obtain local time; subtract time zone number from local time to obtain UTC

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future