An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The United States is pleased to learn of the decision by the World Heritage Committee to inscribe a group of eight masterworks by American architect Frank Lloyd Wright as a single World Heritage Site, the United States’ 24th site on the World Heritage List.  The World Heritage Committee inscribed the Frank Lloyd Wright buildings by consensus on July 7 at its 43rd session in Baku, Azerbaijan.

The group, entitled “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright,” is the first World Heritage listing for the United States in the field of modern architecture.  The eight buildings include:  Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois; Frederick C. Robie House in Chicago, Illinois; Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin; Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, California; Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pennsylvania; Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin; Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona; and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City.  Scholars and experts coordinated with the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy to select them from among more than 400 works designed by Wright.  Each of the eight buildings,  which were designed and constructed over the span of 54 years (1905-1959), fills a range of functions, including residential, religious, work, and museum space.  Together, the buildings showcase Wright’s influence on the course of architecture around the world.

There are currently 1092 designated sites in 167 countries around the world.  “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright” joins 23 other natural and cultural World Heritage Sites in the United States that reflect outstanding universal value, including Mesa Verde, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Everglades, Great Smoky Mountains, the Statue of Liberty, Monticello and the University of Virginia, and the San Antonio Missions.  Many of these are managed by the U.S. National Park Service.

The United States was a prime architect of the World Heritage Convention, an international treaty created in 1972 to promote the conservation and preservation of important natural and cultural sites.  Inside the United States, public and private sector cooperation on natural and cultural heritage preservation promotes appreciation of important U.S. sites, including many U.S. National Parks; protects endangered national treasures; and supports local economies through tourism.  Further information on the World Heritage Program and the process for the selection of U.S. sites can be found at .

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future