International Migrants Day - December 18, 2016 (text version of map)

January 20, 2017

[graphic version]
[back to International Migration page]

Promoting safe, orderly, and regular migration

PRM supports a variety of regional migration programs that assist governments in their e­fforts to:

• Build capacity to identify protection concerns and humanely manage their migration processes.

• Strengthen regional, multi-state migration dialogues.

• Provide direct assistance to the world’s most vulnerable migrants.

• Promote cooperation between the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR).

• Build regional and national government capacity to prepare for and respond to migration emergencies.

These e­fforts are implemented through IOM.

Examples from PRM regional migration programs:

1. Mesoamerica - Helping governments identify and assist unprecedented numbers of unaccompanied children and migrant families on the move. (Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Panama, Honduras, Nicaragua)

2. Dominican Republic/Haiti - Working with the Dominican Republic to assist thousands of Haitian migrants in obtaining legal migration status.

3. West and Central Africa - Building a regional approach to identifying, screening, and assisting vulnerable migrants. (Senegal, The Gambia. Burkina Faso, Ghana, Nigeria)

4. Southern Africa - Developing alternatives to detention for young and unaccompanied minor migrants. (Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, South Africa, Malawi, Mozambique)

5. Horn of Africa - Providing life-saving assistance and helping migrants caught in conflict return home. (Djibouti, Yemen, Ethiopia, Somalia, "Somaliland", "Puntland", Kenya)

6. North Africa - Supporting the safe voluntary return and reintegration of vulnerable migrants and victims of human trafficking. (Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Sudan)

7. Western Balkans - Disrupting and prosecuting human smuggling rings and providing support to at-risk migrants. (Bosnia & Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Macedonia, Albania)

8. Central Asia - Preparing governments to quickly meet the needs of migrants during times of crisis. (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan)

9. East Asia - Reducing risks for “marriage migrants” and crafting effective counter-trafficking legislation. (China)

10. Southeast Asia - Removing and repatriating vulnerable and trafficked migrants from exploitive working conditions. (Burma, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, Philippines, Cambodia)


U.S. Department of State

U.S. Department of State
Names and boundary representation are not necessarily authoritative.
Source: U.S. Department of State
December 19, 2016 - U1499 STATE (HIU)