An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

In recognition of a shared commitment to advancing marine research and innovation and building on the previous cross-Atlantic collaborations, today in Washington, D.C., officials from Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cabo Verde, the European Union, Morocco, South Africa, and the United States came together to sign the All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance (AAORIA) Declaration. The signatories agree on a common path forward for ocean science cooperation in the Atlantic Ocean, for the benefit of all Atlantic communities.

The Declaration signatories were joined by officials from Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Ghana, Norway, and the United Kingdom who also expressed their country’s commitment to cooperative Atlantic Ocean science. Forward-looking discussions amongst senior leaders, policy makers and scientific experts also took place on the topics of ocean literacy, capacity building, pollution, ocean-climate nexus, ocean observing, marine ecosystems, sustainable ocean economy, aquaculture and fisheries to inform future collaboration.

The Atlantic Ocean is an invaluable resource shared by all Atlantic nations, and beyond. It requires effective cooperation in marine research and innovation to inform the sustainable management of human activities, and to ensure a healthy ocean for the communities that depend on it now and in the future.

The All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance (AAORIA) is the result of ongoing collaborative ocean science efforts involving countries and organizations from along and across the Atlantic Ocean basin. It builds upon the success of the Galway Statement on Atlantic Ocean Cooperation which was signed by the European Union, United States, and Canada in 2013; and the Belém Statement on Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Cooperation which was signed by the European Union, Brazil, and South Africa in 2017 as well as on a number of other bilateral and multilateral agreements.

Any organization or institute from an Atlantic nation, or international/intergovernmental organizations with an interest in Atlantic ocean science, beyond the signatories, are welcomed and encouraged to engage in and participate in joint science, research and innovation activities of the Alliance.

For more information on AAORIA, please visit:

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future