An official website of the United States government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.
American Flag

Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty

Share this page on:

The Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, commonly known as the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) is the cornerstone of the nuclear nonproliferation regime. The three main aspects of the NPT are nonproliferation, disarmament, and peaceful uses of nuclear technology. The nonproliferation aspect is the foundation of the NPT: it has enabled past progress on nuclear disarmament and facilitated the spread of peaceful nuclear technology for development across the globe. Adherence to the NPT’s nonproliferation provisions- and the improved international security environment this enables- remains the key to future progress on nuclear disarmament and the further spread of peaceful nuclear technology. 

The NPT entered into force in 1970, was extended indefinitely in 1995, and has become nearly universal.  This Treaty has made the world safer and more prosperous for all States Party, and it remains one of the most successful treaties ever negotiated.  All NPT Parties are more security because the NPT has helped prevent additional states from acquiring nuclear weapons. An effective nuclear nonproliferation regime provides confidence that facilitates cooperation to share the benefits of peaceful uses of nuclear energy and fosters a security environment that has enabled dramatic reductions in nuclear stockpiles and is essential for future progress on nuclear disarmament. 

The United States remains dedicated to preserving and strengthening the nuclear nonproliferation regime, on which the Treaty is based, for future generations.

The NPT Review Process

The Treaty allows for the Parties to gather every five years for the NPT Review Conference (RevCon) to review its operation. NPT Preparatory Committee (PrepCom) meetings are held during each of the three years preceding a RevCon. Learn More »

Discover More

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future