An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Recognizing the vital role a free press plays in a free and democratic society, the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA) announced today – on World Press Freedom Day – that more than 200 emerging journalists from over 100 countries and territories will participate in the Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists, the Department’s premier journalism exchange this year. In 2023, 13 cohorts of journalists will travel to the United States on a rolling basis, with the most recent delegation of international journalists arriving in late April from countries across the Middle East and North Africa as well as Sub-Saharan Africa, including: the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Ghana, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, South Sudan, and Tunisia. In June, the next cohort of international journalists from Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Belize, Chile, Czech Republic, Ethiopia, Ghana, Hong Kong, Lebanon, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Morocco, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, and Zambia will arrive in the United States to participate in the Murrow Program.

The delegation from African nations is focused on print and radio journalism, and will travel in small groups for professional meetings, workshops, and activities with their American counterparts in the media, as well as faculty and students at various journalism schools at U.S. institutions of higher education. They will travel to: Phoenix and Tucson, Arizona; San Francisco, California; St. Petersburg, Florida; and Chicago, Illinois. While in these American cities, the delegation will engage on key issues facing journalism and journalists, best practices in reporting, as well as gain a greater understanding of how media work in the United States.

In June, the multi-regional delegation of 23 journalists will travel to Los Angeles, CA; Washington, D.C.; Tampa, FL; Bloomington and Indianapolis, IN; and Des Moines and Iowa City, IA, to focus on research and investigative journalism.

Named after Edward R. Murrow, the iconic American broadcast journalist who forged a high standard of journalism and reporting during World War II and thereafter, the Murrow Program is a part of the International Visitor Leadership Program (IVLP). For almost two decades, the Murrow program has brought nearly 2,000 international emerging journalists to the United States for a short-term exchange with their U.S. counterparts, which allows them to expand their networks and explore the essential role of an independent media in preserving and protecting a key pillar of democracy – a free press.

For press inquiries, contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at Follow the upcoming Murrow programs on social media at @StateIVLP.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future