African Affairs: Countries and Other Areas

Stay Connected:
DipNote Blog Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS Subscribe

Information about countries (including dependencies and areas of special sovereignty) under the Bureau of African Affairs is available through links in the navigation bar at left. The list is sorted alphabetically by short-form names. For long-form names, please refer to the U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets or see the list of Independent States of the World. Note that the Bureau of African Affairs deals with countries in sub-Saharan Africa, not those in North Africa.

In a diplomatic note sent on May 18, 2018, the Swaziland Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation requested that the United States Government change the name of the country from ‘Swaziland’ to ‘Eswatini’. The U.S. Board on Geographic Names approved the change on May 25, 2018.