Public Meeting in Washington, DC, March 5, 2014

February 13, 2014

U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy – Notice of Public Meeting in Washington, DC

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy will hold a public meeting on the topic of the Obama Administration’s Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) on Wednesday, March 5, 2014 from 10:00-11:30a.m. at the Capitol Visitor’s Center, Room SVC203-02, in Washington, DC.

The meeting will feature government officials involved with implementing this initiative throughout the U.S. government. Confirmed speakers include Macon Phillips, Coordinator of the International Information Programs Bureau at the State Department; David Plack, Director of Policy and Senior Advisor to the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Academic Programs in the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the State Department; Todd Haskell, Director of Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs in the Bureau of African Affairs at the State Department; Brett Bruen, Director of Global Engagement at the National Security Council, The White House; and Elizabeth Berry Gips, Coordinator of the Young African Leaders Initiative at the U.S. Agency for International Development.

The U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy appraises U.S. Government activities intended to understand, inform, and influence foreign publics. The Advisory Commission may conduct studies, inquiries, and meetings, as it deems necessary. It may assemble and disseminate information and issue reports and other publications, subject to the approval of the Chairperson, in consultation with the Executive Director. The Advisory Commission may undertake foreign travel in pursuit of its studies and coordinate, sponsor, or oversee projects, studies, events, or other activities that it deems desirable and necessary in fulfilling its functions.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. The members of the Commission shall represent the public interest and shall be selected from a cross section of educational, communications, cultural, scientific, technical, public service, labor, business, and professional backgrounds. Not more than four members shall be from any one political party. The President designates a member to chair the Commission.

The current members of the Commission are: Mr. William Hybl of Colorado, Chairman; Mr. Sim Farar of California, Vice Chairman; Ambassador Lyndon Olson of Texas, Vice Chairman; Ambassador Penne Korth-Peacock of Texas; Ms. Anne Terman Wedner of Illinois; and Ms. Lezlee Westine of Virginia. One seat on the Commission is currently vacant. The following individual has been nominated to the Commission but awaits Senate confirmation as of this writing: Mr. Alfredo Balsera of Florida.

The meeting will be open to the public, Members and staff of Congress, the State Department, Defense Department, the media, and other governmental and nongovernmental organizations. Seating is limited. To attend this event, please RSVP to To request further information, or to request reasonable accommodation, please contact Katherine Brown, Executive Director of the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy, at