An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Section 620M of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 (also referred to as the “State Leahy law”) states, in pertinent part:

(a) IN GENERAL. – No assistance shall be furnished under this Act or the Arms Export Control Act to any unit of the security forces of a foreign country if the Secretary of State has credible information that such unit has committed a gross violation of human rights.


(d) The Secretary of State shall establish, and periodically update, procedures to—

(7) make publicly available, to the maximum extent practicable, the identity of those units for which no assistance shall be furnished pursuant to subsection (a).

Consistent with this provision, the list below identifies (in alphabetical order, by country) foreign government security forces units that were proposed for applicable assistance in calendar year 2018 but were denied such assistance pursuant to the State Leahy law based on credible information that the unit committed a gross violation of human rights during any year in the unit’s history.  A unit’s absence from this list does not mean the unit received security assistance from the United States.  A listed unit may receive assistance in the future if new, exculpatory information is discovered.  In addition, depending on the steps taken by the foreign government to bring the responsible members of the unit to justice, assistance to a unit may resume if the Secretary of State determines and reports to Congress that the government is taking effective steps to bring the responsible members of the unit to justice, in accordance with the State Leahy law.


  • Investigation Wing, Counter Terrorism and Transnational Crime Unit (CTTCU), Chaka Metropolitan Police, Bangladesh Police
  • Rapid Action Battalion, Dhaka


  • San Ignacio Police Station, Belize Police Department

Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Bratunac Police Station, Zvornik Police Precinct, Republika Srpska Ministry of Interior


  • Banteay Meanchey Province Police Commissariat

Central African Republic

  • Presidential Guard


  • Gurjaani Criminal Police Station
  • Zugdidi Patrol Police Station


  • Leonora Police Station
  • Turkeyen Police Station


  • Anti-extortion National Force
  • Metropolitan Prevention Unit UMEP No. 1, District 2


  • Ain Zara Prison, Tripoli, Judicial Police, Ministry of Justice


  • Aguascalientes State Government, Aguascalientes State Attorney General’s Office, General Commission of the Ministerial Police
  • Attorney General of the Republic, Deputy Attorney General’s office of Specialized Organized Crime Investigation, Specialized Unit Investigating Kidnappings
  • Baja California Secretariat of Public Security, Direcorate of the Preventive State Police, Operative Sub-Directorate, Operative and Prevention Coordination
  • Baja California Secretariat of Public Security, Directorate of the Preventive State Police, Sub-Directorate of Investigation, Coordination for Crime Prevention
  • Federal Police, Regional Security Division, Northeast Zone Regional Coordination, Coahuila State Coordination, Torreon Station
  • Federal Police, Office of the General Commissioner, Intelligence Division, Coordination of Undercover Operations, General Directorate of Infiltration Operations
  • Jalisco State Attorney General’s Office, Central Prosecutor’s Office, General Directorate of Special Investigations, Directorate of the Investigation Unit Against Kidnapping
  • Jalisco State Attorney General’s Office, Regional Prosecutor’s Office, Directorate of Investigation Against Drug Trafficking
  • Oaxaca Secretariat of Public Security, State Police Commission, Head of Staff, Coordination of Plans and Operations, Division of Operations Deployment
  • San Luis Potosi State Attorney General’s Office, Directorate of the Ministerial Police, Operational Directorate of the Ministerial Police, Homicides Coordination


  • Devi Dutta Battalion, Mid-Division
  • No. 2 Jagadal Battalion, Mid-Division
  • Rudradhoj Battalion, Far Western Division

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future