Assistant Secretaries and Other Senior Officials

Below is a list of Department officials. Information on this page is updated periodically and may not reflect the most current status of appointments and personnel changes.

Administration (Assistant Secretary): Nicole R. Nason
African Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Tibor P. Nagy, Jr.
Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (Assistant Secretary): Dr. Yleem D.S. Poblete
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) (U.S. Ambassador): Matthew J. Matthews
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN): Vacant
Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (BWC) Issues (Special Representative): Robert A. Wood
Budget and Planning: Douglas A. Pitkin
Chief Economist: Dr. Sharon Brown-Hruska
Chief Information Officer: Stuart McGuigan
Chief of Protocol: Sean P. Lawler
Chief of Staff: Vacant
Civil Rights (Director): Gregory B. Smith
Civil Society and Emerging Democracies (Coordinator): Vacant
Closure of the Guantanamo Detention Facility (Special Envoy): Vacant
Commercial and Business Affairs (Special Representative): Scott Ticknor (Acting)
Comptroller: Christopher H. Flaggs
Conference on Disarmament (Permanent Representative): Robert A. Wood
Conflict and Stabilization Operations (Assistant Secretary): Denise Natali
Consular Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Carl C. Risch
Counselor of the Department: T. Ulrich Brechbuhl
Counterterrorism (Coordinator): Nathan A. Sales
Cyber Issues (Coordinator): Vacant
Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (Assistant Secretary): Vacant
Diplomatic Security (Assistant Secretary): Michael T. Evanoff
Director General of the Foreign Service and Director of Human Resources: Carol Z. Perez
East Asian and Pacific Affairs (Assistant Secretary): W. Patrick Murphy (Acting)
Economic and Business Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Manisha Singh
Education and Cultural Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Marie Royce
Energy Resources (Assistant Secretary): Francis R. Fannon
European and Eurasian Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Philip T. Reeker (Acting)
Executive Secretariat: Lisa D. Kenna
Foreign Service Institute (Director): Daniel B. Smith
Global Criminal Justice (Ambassador): Vacant
Global Food Security (Special Representative): Vacant
Global Health Diplomacy (Special Representative): Deborah L. Birx, M.D.
Global Women's Issues (Ambassador-at-Large): Vacant
Global Youth Issues (Special Adviser): Andrew C. Rabens
Holocaust Issues (Special Envoy): Thomas K. Yazdgerdi
Inspector General: Steve A. Linick
Intelligence and Research (Assistant Secretary): Ellen E. McCarthy
International Civil Aviation Organization (U.S. Representative): Thomas Carter
International Disability Rights (Special Advisor): Vacant
International Information Programs (Coordinator): Nicole Chulick (Acting)
International Labor Affairs (Special Representative): Vacant
International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Kirsten D. Madison
International Organization Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Kevin Edward Moley
International Security and Nonproliferation (Assistant Secretary): Christopher Ashley Ford
Iran Nuclear Implementation (Lead Coordinator): Vacant
Israeli-Palestinian Negotiations (Special Envoy): Vacant
Legal Adviser: Jennifer G. Newstead
Legislative Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Mary Elizabeth Taylor
Management Policy, Rightsizing, and Innovation (Director): Janice L DeGarmo
Medical Services (Director): Charles Rosenfarb, M.D.
Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism (Special Envoy): Elan S. Carr
Muslim Communities (Special Representative): Vacant
Near Eastern Affairs (Assistant Secretary): David M. Satterfield (Acting)
North Korea (Special Representative): Stephen Biegun
North Korean Human Rights Issues (Special Envoy): Vacant
Nuclear Nonproliferation (Special Representative of the President): Vacant
Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Vacant
Office of Foreign Missions (Director): Cliff Seagroves (Acting)
Office of International Religious Freedom (Ambassador at Large): Samuel D. Brownback
Office of the Global AIDS Coordinator and Health Diplomacy: Deborah L. Birx, M.D.
Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking In Persons (Ambassador-at-Large): John Richmond
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD): Vacant
Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE): Vacant
Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW): Kenneth D. Ward
Organization of Islamic Cooperation (Special Envoy): Vacant
Overseas Buildings Operations (Director): Will Moser (Acting)
Policy Planning (Director): Kiron Skinner
Political-Military Affairs (Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary): Stanley L. Brown (Acting)
Population, Refugees, and Migration (Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary): Carol Thompson O'Connell
Public Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Michelle S. Giuda
Quadrennial Diplomacy and Development Review (QDDR) (Special Representative): Vacant
Sanctions Policy (Coordinator): Vacant
Science and Technology (Adviser): Dr. Franklin Carrero-Martínez (Acting)
Senior Advisor for Security Negotiations and Agreements: Timothy Alan Betts
Senior Advisor to the Secretary: Mary E. Kissel
South and Central Asian Affairs (Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary): Alice G. Wells
Special Coordinator for Tibetan Issues: Vacant
Special Envoy and Coordinator of the Global Engagement Center: Lea Gabrielle
Special Envoy for Sudan and South Sudan: Vacant
Special Envoy for Syria: Joel D. Rayburn
Special Envoy for the Great Lakes Region of Africa: J. Peter Pham
Special Envoy for the Human Rights of LGBTI Persons: Vacant
Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism: Elan S. Carr
Special Envoy to the Global Coalition To Defeat ISIS: James F. Jeffrey
Special Negotiator for Nonproliferation: Vacant
Special Presidential Envoy for Hostage Affairs: Robert O'Brien
Special Representative for Afghanistan Reconciliation: Zalmay Khalilzad
Special Representative for Environment and Water Resources: Vacant
Special Representative for Iran and Senior Policy Advisor to the Secretary of State: Brian H. Hook
Special Representative for North Korea: Steve Biegun
Special Representative for Religion and Global Affairs: Vacant
Special Representative for Somalia: Vacant
Special Representative for Syria Engagement: James F. Jeffrey
Special Representative for Ukraine Negotiations: Kurt Volker
Special Representative for the Arctic: Vacant
Threat Reduction Programs (Coordinator): Vacant
U.S. Foreign Assistance Resources (Director): Eric M. Ueland
U.S. Special Representative for Venezuela: Elliott Abrams
UN Human Rights Council (U.S. Representative): Vacant
Western Hemisphere Affairs (Assistant Secretary): Kimberly Breier
White House Liaison: Carrie Cabelka