Designated ISIS Branches and Individuals

Fact Sheet
Office of the Spokesperson
Washington, DC
August 17, 2017

The Department of State has designated over 30 ISIS leaders and operatives under Executive Order (E.O.) 13224, and will continue to target the group to deny it access to the U.S. financial system. These designations are part of a larger comprehensive plan to defeat ISIS that, in coordination with the 73-member Global Coalition, has made significant progress toward that goal. This whole-of-government effort is destroying ISIS in its safe havens, denying its ability to recruit foreign terrorist fighters, stifling its financial resources, negating the false propaganda it disseminates over the internet and social media, and helping to stabilize liberated areas in Iraq and Syria so the displaced can return to their homes and begin to rebuild their lives.

ISIS individuals designated by the U.S. Department of State under E.O. 13224


Individual Name

August 17, 2017

Ahmad Alkhald

August 17, 2017

Abu Yahya al-Iraqi

May 19, 2017

Muhammad al-Isawi (ISIS)

April 27, 2017

Mubarak Mohammed A Alotaibi (ISIL - Saudi Arabia)

April 13, 2017

Farah Mohamed Shirdon (ISIS)

March 30, 2017

Anjem Choudary (ISIS)

March 30, 2017

El Shafee Elsheikh (ISIS)

March 30, 2017

Mark John Taylor (ISIS)

March 30, 2017

Shane Dominic Crawford (ISIS)

January 10, 2017

Alexanda Amon Kotey (ISIS)

November 22, 2016

Abdelilah Himich (ISIS)

November 22, 2016

Basil Hassan (ISIS)

November 22, 2016

Abdullah Ahmed al-Meshedani (ISIS)

September 28, 2016

Anas El Abboubi (ISIL)

August 31, 2016

Abdiqadir Mumin (ISIS)

August 3, 2016

Mohamed Abrini (ISIS)

July 13, 2016

Aslan Avgazarovich Byutukaev (ISIL-CP)

April 5, 2016

Salah Abdeslam (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Rustam Aselderov (ISIL-CP)

September 29, 2015

Emilie Konig (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Boubaker Hakim (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Maxime Hauchard (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Shamil Izmaylov (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Nasser Muthana (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Sally Jones (ISIS)

September 29, 2015

Gulmurod Khalimov (ISIS)

January 27, 2015

Denis Cuspert (ISIS)

September 24, 2014

Amru al-Absi (ISIS)

September 24, 2014

Salim Benghalem (ISIS)

September 24, 2014

Lavdrim Muhaxheri (ISIS)

August 18, 2014

Abu Mohammed al-Adnani (ISIS)

October 4, 2011

Ibrahim 'Awwad Ibrahim 'Ali al-Badri (Abu Du'a) (ISIS)

ISIS branches designated by the U.S. Department of State



Branch Name

May 19, 2016



May 19, 2016

Saudi Arabia

ISIS-Saudi Arabia (SDGT)

May 19, 2016



September 29, 2015


Jund al-Khilafah Algeria (SDGT)

September 29, 2015

Caucasus Province

ISIL – Caucasus Province (SDGT)

September 29, 2015


Islamic State’s Khorasan Province (FTO, SDGT)

April 9, 2014


ISIL Sinai Province (formerly Ansar Bayt al Maqdis) (FTO, SDGT)

Other ISIS related groups:

January 10, 2017

Jammaah Anshorut Daulah (JAD)

June 9, 2016

Yarmouk Martyrs Brigade (YMB)

March 22, 2016

Santoso (MIT)

September 29, 2015

Mujahidin Indonesian Timur (MIT)

September 29, 2015

Jaysh Rijal al-Tariq al Naqshabandi (JRTN)

The Department of State is authorized to designate Foreign Terrorist Organizations (FTOs) under the Immigration and Nationality Act and Specially Designated Global Terrorists (SDGTs) under E.O. 13224. While only organizations can be designated as FTOs, a wider range of persons – including terrorist groups, leaders and members of terrorist groups, and other individuals and entities that have committed or pose a significant risk of committing acts of terrorism – can be designated by the Department of State as SDGTs. Terrorism designations expose and isolate organizations and individuals, and deny them access to the U.S. financial system. Moreover, designations can assist the law enforcement activities of U.S. agencies and other governments.