An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The Office of Foreign Missions (OFM) has six regional offices located throughout the United States.  Each OFM regional office is responsible for regulating the activities of foreign missions located outside the National Capital Region in accordance with both the foreign policy and national security interests of the United States.


Current days and times OFM’s regional offices are open to foreign missions.

Regional Office Day(s) Times
Chicago Wednesday 10am – Noon & 2pm – 4pm
Houston Tuesday & Thursday 1pm – 4pm
Los Angeles Monday & Thursday 10am – 1pm
Miami Wednesday 9am – 3pm
New York Monday 1pm – 3pm
San Francisco Tuesday & Thursday


9am – 11am & 2pm – 4 pm

9am – 11am


Download Map of OFM Regional Jurisdictions [531 KB]

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future