An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Equatorial Guinea

2. Bilateral Investment Agreements and Taxation Treaties

Equatorial Guinea and the United States have not signed a Bilateral Investment Agreement, a Free Trade Agreement, nor a Bilateral Taxation Treaty.  Equatorial Guinea is not eligible for AGOA this year.

Equatorial Guinea has a bilateral investment agreement with Spain that came into force in 2003.  The government signed a cooperation framework agreement with Cape Verde on April 16, 2019, including double taxation avoidance and tax evasion, and reciprocal protection of investments in the two nations.

The country has several bilateral taxation treaties with the following countries:

  • China, signed in 2005, entered into force in 2006
  • Ethiopia, signed in 2009, not currently in force
  • France, signed in 1982, entered into force in 1983
  • Morocco, signed in 2005, not currently in force
  • Russia, signed in 2011, not currently in force
  • South Africa, signed in 2004, not currently in force
  • Spain, signed in 2003, entered into force in 2003
  • Ukraine, signed in 2005, not currently in force

Equatorial Guinea is also party to various other economic agreements, namely the following:

  • Cotonou Agreement EU, entered into force in 2003
  • African Union Treaty, entered into force in 1994
  • Economic Community of Central African States Treaty, entered into force in 1984
  • CEMAC Convention on Liberalization, entered into force in 1972
  • CEMAC Investment, entered into force in 1966
  • The African Continental Free Trade Agreement signed March 21, 2018, not currently in force

China has granted Equatorial Guinea preferential trade status.  The two countries are currently engaged in negotiations for a free trade agreement.


2. Bilateral Investment Agreements and Taxation Treaties

Qatar has 56 bilateral investment treaties (BITs), according to the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).  Twenty-two BITs are in force, namely with Belarus, Belgium, Luxembourg, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Egypt, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Iran, Italy, Jordan, South Korea, Montenegro, Morocco, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Switzerland, and Turkey.  The most recent BIT was signed with Rwanda in November 2018, but has not yet come into force. A full list of current BITs with the State of Qatar can be found at:   

While Qatar has not entered into a bilateral investment or trade treaty with the United States, the two nations established a Trade and Investment Framework Agreement (TIFA) in 2004.  Additionally, as part of the GCC, Qatar has signed 12 treaties with investment provisions (TIPs), including one between the GCC and the United States in 2012, but this treaty has not yet entered into force.  The United States and Qatar hold an annual high-level Strategic Dialogue, through which the two governments discuss matters related to trade and investment cooperation. 

Qatar does not have a double taxation treaty with the United States.  In January 2015, Qatar became the first GCC country to sign a Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) intergovernmental agreement with the United States.  In total, Qatar has over 58 agreements for the Avoidance of Double Taxation, including, most recently, with Ghana (November 2018) and Paraguay (March 2018).

Investment Climate Statements
Edit Your Custom Report

01 / Select A Year

02 / Select Sections

03 / Select Countries You can add more than one country or area.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future