Entered into force December 3, 1968.

In accordance with Article 7, paragraph 2, the Agreement shall be subject to ratification by signatory States and instruments of ratification and instruments of accession shall be deposited with the designated Depositary Governments [Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States]. In accordance with Article 7, paragraph 3, the Agreement entered into force upon the deposit of instruments of ratification by 5 Governments, including the Governments designated as Depositary Governments under the Agreement. In accordance with Article 7, paragraph 4, for States whose instruments of ratification or accession are deposited subsequent to the entry into force of the Agreement, it shall enter into force on the date of deposit of their instruments of ratification or accession.

Download Status List [130 KB]

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future