Executive Secretariat

The Executive Secretariat (S/ES), comprised of the Executive Secretary and five Deputy Executive Secretaries, is responsible for coordination of the work of the Department internally, serving as the liaison between the Department's bureaus and the offices of the Secretary, Deputy Secretaries, and Under Secretaries. It also handles the Department's relations with the White House, National Security Council, and other Cabinet agencies.

The Secretariat Staff (S/ES-S) works with the various offices of the Department in drafting and clearing written materials for the Secretary, Deputy Secretaries, Under Secretary for Political Affairs, and Counselor. This staff also is responsible for taking care of advance preparations for the Secretary's official trips -- domestic and international -- and staffing the "mobile office," as well as keeping the Secretary's schedule on track during the trip.

The Operations Center (S/ES-O) is the Secretary's and the Department's communications and crisis management center. Working 24 hours a day, the Operations Center monitors world events, prepares briefings for the Secretary and other Department principals, and facilitates communication between the Department and the rest of the world. The Operations Center also coordinates the Department's response to crises and supports task forces, monitoring groups, and other crisis-related activities.