An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

For 2019, the ACE will have winners in two categories:

  • Award for Corporate Excellence in Sustainable Operations will honor a company’s commitment to incorporating sustainability into its core policies and decision-making, including environmental, social, or other types of sustainability practices.
  • Award for Corporate Excellence for Women’s Economic Empowerment will honor a company’s commitment to supporting women’s economic empowerment through its values, strategies, policies, programs, procedures, and/or operational practices.

Past winners include both multinational and small-to-medium size enterprises:

  • 2018 – Sustainable Operations: PVH Corp. in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; and Women’s Economic Empowerment: Alaffia in Lome, Togo
  • 2016 – ACE was awarded to six companies in the following four categories:
    • Inclusive Hiring Practices: General Electric in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia; and McDonald’s Deutschland in Berlin, Germany
    • Transparent Operations: Sociedad Minera Cerro Verde S.A.A in Lima, Peru
    • Sustainable Oceans Management: Bureo, Inc. in Santiago, Chile and Interface, Inc. in Manila, Philippines
    • Small or Medium Enterprise: Andela in Lagos, Nigeria
  • 2015 – Weyerhaeuser Productos S.A. (Uruguay); Cargill Vietnam Ltd.; Award for Corporate Excellence for a Small or Medium Enterprise: East Bali Cashews (Indonesia)
  • 2014 – EcoPlanet Bamboo Group, Nicaragua; Wagner Asia Equipment LLC, Mongolia; The Coca-Cola Company, Philippines.
  • 2013 – Taylor Guitars, Cameroon; Fruit of the Loom, Honduras; Plantronics, Mexico.
  • 2012 – Sorwathe, Rwanda; Intel Corporation, Vietnam.
  • 2011 – Sahlman Seafoods, Incorporated, Nicaragua; Procter & Gamble, Nigeria; Procter & Gamble, Pakistan.
  • 2010 – Cisco Systems, Israel; Mars, Inc., Ghana; Denimatrix, Guatemala.
  • 2009 – Trilogy International Partners, Haiti; TOMS Shoes, Argentina.
  • 2008 – Cargill, China; SURevolution, Colombia.
  • 2007 – GE, Indonesia; Transnational Automotive Group, Cameroon.
  • 2006 – General Motors, Colombia; Goldman Sachs, Chile; Sambazon, Brazil.
  • 2005 – Cisco Systems, Jordan; Lapa Rios Ecolodge, Costa Rica.
  • 2004 – Motorola, Brazil; FIJI Water, Fiji.
  • 2003 – Chevron/Texaco, Nigeria; U.S. Steel Corporation, the Slovak Republic.
  • 2002 – Coca-Cola, Egypt; Chindex International, China.
  • 2001 – Ford Motor Company, South Africa; SELCO, Vietnam.
  • 2000 – Motorola, Malaysia; Rayonier New Zealand; Land O’Frost, Uruguay.
  • 1999 – Xerox, Brazil; F.C. Schaffer & Associates, Ethiopia.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future