Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo will honor a group of extraordinary women with the 2019 Secretary of State’s International Women of Courage (IWOC) Award. The official ceremony will take place on Thursday, March 7, at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of State.

Established in 2007, this annual award honors women around the world who have demonstrated exceptional courage, strength, and leadership in acting to bring positive change to their societies, often at great personal risk and sacrifice. To date, under the IWOC program, the U.S. Department of State has recognized over 120 women from more than 65 countries. All awardees advocated for the protection of human rights, promoted the advancement of the status of women, and fostered peace and government transparency around the world.

The names and bios of the recipients of the 2019 award will be announced on or about March 5.

The ceremony will be open to the press and streamed live on Follow @StateDept during the event for updates and live tweets with #WomenofCourage.

For the ceremony, pre-set time for video cameras is 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 6, at the 23rd Street entrance. Final access time for writers and stills is 8:00 a.m. Thursday, March 7, at the 23rd Street entrance.

Media representatives may attend the ceremony upon presentation of one of the following: (1) A U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist, accompanied by an official photo identification card (driver’s license, passport).

For further information on this event, please contact the Office of Press Relations ( and 202-647-2492) or the Office of Global Women’s Issues (

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future