Ambassador Jessye Lapenn, Senior Coordinator for Atlantic Cooperation, will travel to Dublin, Ireland on July 4, 2023.

Ambassador Lapenn will lead the U.S. delegation attending the celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Galway Statement on Atlantic Ocean Cooperation, hosted by Ireland’s Department of Foreign Affairs, the European Commission, and Ireland’s Marine Institute. NOAA Assistant Administrator for Research and Galway co-chair, Steve Thur, Ph.D, will join Ambassador Lapenn in Dublin and then lead the U.S. delegation to related meetings in Galway.

The United States was an original signatory of the Galway Statement, along with Canada and the European Union. The Statement launched a decade of marine research cooperation along and across the Atlantic Ocean that continues under the auspices of the All-Atlantic Ocean Research and Innovation Alliance (AAORIA) and now includes the European Union, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cabo Verde, Morocco, South Africa, and the United States.

Through the initiative for Atlantic Cooperation, led by Ambassador Lapenn, the United States is working to collaborate with countries north, south, east, and west of the Atlantic Ocean to address our shared economic, security, and environmental concerns. Marine research collaboration, including through the Galway Statement and AAORIA, is essential to understand this important resource and to advance this initiative.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future