An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Social Inclusion and Access to Opportunity for All

In order to achieve shared prosperity and long-term security in the region, it is essential that all members of our society are able to participate politically, have equal opportunity to participate in economic activity, and have access to education. In every country of the region, historically marginalized groups, including people of African descent, indigenous peoples, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex (LGBTI) persons, women and girls, youth, and persons with disabilities, confront barriers and discrimination preventing them from fully participating in political, economic, and social life. We work in partnership with civil society, the private sector, and other countries in and outside the region to promote human rights, social inclusion, inclusive security, and prosperity for all.

Our agreements with Brazil (U.S.-Brazil Joint Action Plan to Eliminate Racial and Ethnic Discrimination and Promote Equality, 2008), Colombia (U.S.-Colombia Action Plan on Racial and Ethnic Equality, 2010), and Uruguay (Memorandum of Understanding to Promote Racial and Ethnic Equality and Social Inclusion, 2014) focus on racial and ethnic equality and social inclusion. Our Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Brazil on the Advancement of Women (2010) fosters cooperation on gender equality, women’s economic and political empowerment, and the elimination of trafficking and violence against women. We also have a similar MOU with Mexico (2012) to advance equality, empowerment, and the promotion of the human rights of women and girls as well as a Trilateral Working Group on Violence against Indigenous Women and Girls with Canada and Mexico. The United States participates as a member of the Organization of Americans States’ LGBTI Core Group.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future