Executive Order 13888 on Enhancing State and Local Involvement in Refugee Resettlement provides that refugees may be resettled only in U.S. jurisdictions where both the state and local governments have provided their consent. Close cooperation with state and local governments ensures that refugees are resettled in communities that are eager and equipped to support their successful integration into American society.

The requirements of Executive Order 13888 are incorporated into the annual notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for resettlement agencies that wish to participate in the initial resettlement of refugees in the United States. The NOFO directs resettlement agencies to seek written consents for that fiscal year from the state governor’s office and the chief executive officer of the local government (county or county equivalent) for each state and locality where the resettlement agencies propose to resettle refugees. Currently, this NOFO is closed due to a January 15, 2020 preliminary injunction issued by the U.S. District Court in HIAS v. Trump, PJM 19-3346.

Executive Order 13888 provides that the Secretary of State shall publicly release any written consent of states and localities to the resettlement of refugees. The following is a list of such written consents that the Department of State had received and processed as of January 13, 2020.  Currently, the Department of State is not processing or publishing such consents due to a January 15, 2020 preliminary injunction issued by the U.S. District Court in HIAS v. Trump, PJM 19-3346.

Arizona FY2020
Arkansas FY2020
California FY2020
Los Angeles County, CA FY2020
Colorado FY2020
Connecticut FY2020
City of New Haven, CT FY2020
Delaware FY2020
New Castle County, DE FY2020
Idaho FY2020
Illinois FY2020
DuPage County, IL FY2020
Iowa FY2020
Kansas FY2020
Wyandotte County, KS FY2020
Louisiana FY2020
Maine FY2020
Maryland FY2020
Massachusetts FY2020
City of Easthampton, MA FY2020
City of Holyoke, MA FY2020
City of Northampton, MA FY2020
City of Salem, MA FY2020
City of West Springfield, MA FY2020
Michigan FY2020
Ingham County, MI FY2020
Minnesota FY2020
Kandiyohi County, MN FY2020
Missouri FY2020
Montana FY2020
Nebraska FY2020
Nevada FY2020
New Hampshire FY2020
New Jersey FY2020
New Mexico FY2020
North Carolina FY2020
Durham County, NC FY2020
North Dakota FY2020
Ohio FY2020
Oklahoma FY2020
Oregon FY2020
Clackamas County, OR FY2020
Pennsylvania FY2020
Rhode Island FY2020
South Dakota FY2020
Tennessee FY2020
Bexar County, TX FY2020
Dallas County, TX FY2020
Utah FY2020
Virginia FY2020
Albemarle County, VA FY2020
Arlington County, VA FY2020
City of Alexandria, VA FY2020
City of Richmond, VA FY2020
City of Roanoke, VA FY2020
Washington FY2020
Grant County, WA FY2020
Pierce County, WA FY2020
Snohomish County, WA FY2020
West Virginia FY2020
Wisconsin FY2020


U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future