Office of Security Assistance (PM/SA)

The Office of Security Assistance (SA) has three core functions: (1) managing State Department Title 22 military grant assistance – to include directing over $6 billion annually in U.S. military grant assistance to allies and friends through policy development, budget formulation, and program oversight; (2) managing concurrence/coordination on various Department of Defense (DoD) Title 10 authorities, including joint planning and development of section 333; and (3) participating in, and coordinating State Department input into, DoD planning efforts. PM/SA is comprised of the Security Assistance (Title 22) Team, the Title 10 Team, and the Defense Sector Plans (DSP) Team. The Security Assistance Team develops and manages military grant assistance policy and funding through numerous programs, in cooperation with regional bureaus and DoD. The Title 10 Team facilitates coordination, concurrence, and clearance on behalf of the Department on key Title 10 authorities (e.g., ASFF and section 333). The Defense Sector Plans (DSP) Team strengthens and institutionalizes planning, posture, and policy coordination between the Departments of State and Defense, and with other partners, to generate unity of effort in political-military and security sector affairs, and further coordinates Secretary of State concurrence or informal State clearance on twelve Title 10 authorities (e.g. JCETs, State Partnership Program, Ministry of Defense Advisor program).

Office Director: Kevin O'Keefe
Deputy Director: Brooke Milton Vogel
Deputy Director: Michael George
Office contact number: 202-663-3040