The United States remains committed to deterring and disrupting the Russian Federation’s repeated attempts to undermine the democratic processes in the United States and other countries.

As part of those efforts, today the United States is sanctioning two Russian Federal Security Service (FSB) officers, Yegor Sergeyevich Popov and Aleksei Borisovich Sukhodolov. This action is directly related to the July 29, 2022 designation of FSB co-optees Aleksandr Viktorovich Ionov and Natalya Valeryevna Burlinova and their organizations.

Popov is an FSB 2nd Service officer who served as Ionov’s primary handler when Ionov conducted foreign malign influence activities in the United States and elsewhere. Popov reported to Sukhodolov, who also worked with Ionov to conduct foreign malign influence operations around the world.

To safeguard our democracy, as well as help protect our allies and partners, the United States will continue to act to deter and disrupt the Kremlin’s malign influence operations.

Today’s action is being taken pursuant to Executive Order 14024. For more information about these designations, please see the Department of the Treasury’s press release.

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future