An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

On behalf of the U.S. Department of State, Special Representative for City and State Diplomacy Nina Hachigian was pleased to announce the creation of the Assembly of Local Leaders (ALL) today at the Bloomberg CityLab in Washington, D.C. ALL is a new venue for the Department of State to engage with mayors, governors, and other municipal leaders on key issues that affect their communities. This first-of-its-kind assembly will gather to discuss, inform, and address the global matters that impact our local communities, such as the climate crisis, public health, foreign investment and economic development.

The 2024-2026 Assembly of Local Leaders will launch in January 2024. The following local officials will participate in the inaugural Assembly:

  • Karen Bass, Mayor of Los Angeles, California
  • Ravinder Bhalla, Mayor of Hoboken, New Jersey
  • Justin Bibb, Mayor of Cleveland, Ohio
  • Jerry Dyer, Mayor of Fresno, California
  • Kate Gallego, Mayor of Phoenix, Arizona
  • Abdullah Hammoud, Mayor of Dearborn, Michigan
  • Bruce Harrell, Mayor of Seattle, Washington
  • David Holt, Mayor of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • Tim Kelly, Mayor of Chattanooga, Tennessee
  • Quinton Lucas, Mayor of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Mary Jo McGuire, Commissioner of Ramsey County, Minnesota
  • Dillon Meek, Mayor of Waco, Texas
  • Phil Murphy, Governor of New Jersey
  • Ron Nirenberg, Mayor of San Antonio, Texas
  • Mattie Parker, Mayor of Fort Worth, Texas
  • Shawyn Patterson-Howard, Mayor of Mount Vernon, New York
  • Satya Rhodes-Conway, Mayor of Madison, Wisconsin
  • Regina Romero, Mayor of Tucson, Arizona
  • Katie Rosenberg, Mayor of Wausau, Wisconsin
  • Hillary Schieve, Mayor of Reno, Nevada
  • Caroline Simmons, Mayor of Stamford, Connecticut
  • Levar Stoney, Mayor of Richmond, Virginia

Follow the conversation on Twitter at @SubnationalDip. To learn more about the Special Representative for Subnational Diplomacy, please click here. For media inquiries and questions, please contact:

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future