Entered into force April 28, 1952.

Upon deposit of ratifications by Japan and by a majority, including the United States as the principal occupying power, of the following states, namely Australia, Canada, Ceylon, France, Indonesia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, the United Kingdom and the United States (Art. 23(a)).

Download Status List [175 KB]

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future