An official website of the United States Government Here's how you know

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

In carrying out the U.S. Government’s efforts to support Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) both in policy and practice, the U.S. Department of State recognized 19 HBCUs from 13 states and Washington, D.C. today, as “Fulbright HBCU Institutional Leaders” for their engagement with the Fulbright Program during the 2022-23 academic year.

The 19 HBCU Institutional Leaders are: Alcorn University, Claiborne County, MS; Bennett College, Greensboro, NC; Bluefield State University, Bluefield, WV; Central State University, Wilberforce, OH; Delaware State University, Wilmington, DE; Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, NC; Florida A&M University, Tallahassee, FL; Howard University, Washington, D.C.; Jackson State University, Jackson, MS; Jarvis Christian University, Wood County, TX; The LeMoyne-Owen College, Memphis, TN; Lincoln University, Chester County, PA; Mississippi Valley State University, Leflore County, MS; Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD; North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC; Spelman College, Atlanta, GA; Texas Southern University, Houston, TX; Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL; and Virginia State University, Ettrick, VA.

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. Government’s flagship international academic exchange program with a longstanding commitment to diversity, working to ensure that participants reflect the United States and societies abroad. In addition to its strong partnership with HBCUs, the Fulbright Program works closely with the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU), the National Clearinghouse on Disability and Exchange, the American Association of Community Colleges, Diversity Abroad, and many more organizations.

There has been a long history of engagement between the Fulbright Program and HBCUs. The inaugural Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board included Fisk University President Dr. Charles S. Johnson and the first Fulbright cohort included four participants affiliated with HBCUs. Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 400,000 students, scholars, artists, and teachers from all types of institutions the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research abroad. Fulbrighters build connections, gain experience, exchange ideas, and address global challenges.

Individuals and U.S. host institutions may go online  to learn more about the Fulbright Program.

Interested media may contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future