The Republic of Angola became the thirty-third country worldwide and the third in Africa to sign the Artemis Accords on November 30th.

Jointly led by the Department of State and NASA, the Artemis Accords were established in 2020 with eight nations participating.  The Artemis Accords set out a practical set of principles to guide space exploration cooperation among nations.  Angola joins Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States in affirming the principles of the Accords for peaceful and sustainable civil space activity.

The United States looks forward to building on Angola’s Artemis Accords commitment and engaging on bilateral space cooperation, including working together to mitigate the effects of climate change and boosting food and water security.

For more information, please visit  For media inquiries, please contact

U.S. Department of State

The Lessons of 1989: Freedom and Our Future