
 
 

 

 

  January 29, 2021 

 

NOTICE 

 

Increase to State of Florida’s Minimum Wage 

 

On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved Amendment 2, which amends Florida’s 

constitution to gradually increase the state’s minimum wage to $15.00 an hour by the year 2026.  

As of January 1, 2021, the minimum wage increased $.09 of $8.65 per hour as scheduled.  On 

September 30, 2021, the minimum wage will rise to $10.00 per hour ($1.35 per hour increase).  

Every September 30 following, the minimum wage will increase $1.00 per hour through 2026, 

according to the following schedule: 

 

• $11.00 on September 30, 2022 

• $12.00 on September 30, 2023 

• $13.00 on September 30, 2024 

• $14.00 on September 30, 2025 

• $15.00 on September 30, 2026 

 

Beginning 2027, the minimum wage will be adjusted annually for inflation, as it has been 

since 2004. 

 

It remains possible that there will be legal challenges to the “implementation” of this 

amendment, and that could involve inestimable time in the courts.  However, barring that 

occurrence, all foreign missions are required to fully implement the new minimum wage law as it 

relates to foreign mission staff and their domestic workers.   

 

 Inquiries concerning the impacts of Amendment 2 and the associated responsive effort on 

the operation of foreign missions in the United States should be transmitted by electronic mail to 

OFMMiami@state.gov.  
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